--- title: "Retrospect wants to re-copy unchanged files during a backup" slug: "retrospect-wants-to-re-copy-unchanged-files-during-a-backup" updated: 2024-10-18T15:43:05Z published: 2024-10-18T15:43:05Z canonical: "docs.retrospect.com/retrospect-wants-to-re-copy-unchanged-files-during-a-backup" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://docs.retrospect.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Retrospect wants to re-copy unchanged files during a backup ## When copying Macintosh Computers: If the Attribute Modification date on a file changes, it may get copied again. To avoid re-copying only because of the attribute modification date, make these changes: ## Retrospect 8.x and higher for Mac - Go to Scripts. Select your backup or copy script and click **Options**. - Click Source > **Macintosh** and uncheck Use attribute modification date when matching. ## Retrospect 7.x and higher for Windows - Go to Automate > **Manage Scripts**. Select the script and click **Edit**. - Click Options > **More Choices** > **Macintosh** > **Client** and uncheck Use attribute modification date when matching. ## Retrospect 6.x for Mac - Go to Automate > **Scripts**. Click on your script and click **Edit**. - Click Options > **More choices** > **Matching** and uncheck Use attribute modification date when matching ## When copying Window Server Operating Systems: - Go to Configure>Scripts>Edit>Options>More Choices>Windows>Security - Uncheck **Back up FILE security information from Servers** Last Update: October 2024