--- title: "Clients are continuously deferred during Proactive Backup" slug: "clients-are-continuously-deferred-during-proactive-backup" updated: 2023-11-09T01:23:31Z published: 2023-11-09T01:26:19Z canonical: "docs.retrospect.com/clients-are-continuously-deferred-during-proactive-backup" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://docs.retrospect.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Clients are continuously deferred during Proactive Backup Resources In this case, please delete the **retro_defer** file located in C:\Windows\Temp. A retro_defer file will be created in the C:\Windows\Temp folder of a Retrospect client machine when a user is prompted with a countdown timer to 1.) Backup Now or 2.) Defer to a specified time. This is to prevent another Retrospect server from accessing the client for backup during this countdown window. Once an option has been selected, the retro_defer file is automatically removed. However, if the file is not removed for any reason (possibly caused by any 3rd party software that prevents files from being deleted in the System Temp folder), Retrospect will continue to defer the backup of that client machine. Last Update: February 14, 2012